top of page

Towns and villages around

BAYONNE

Located at the confluence of the Adour and the Nive, Bayonne is one of the most beautiful towns in the Basque Country. And if it is not located directly by the sea, its charm is elsewhere. The Basque identity is everywhere, both in the architecture and in the associations that punctuate the city or its gastronomy... Bayonne is truly a city apart, to be discovered absolutely.
Meet to start your visit to Bayonne in the Petit Bayonne district. With its high Basque half-timbered buildings and their colorful shutters, it exudes incredible charm. It is good to stroll through its streets, where messages in Basque flourish on the facades and in the windows. Then stroll along the quays of the Nive, which separates the city in two. The facades are absolutely beautiful, especially on the Jaureguiberry quay, not to be missed. It is very pleasant to stop there for a drink. Then cross the river to explore Grand Bayonne. The historic district includes the old halls, the Moulis house and the Sainte-Marie cathedral. Its superb colored apse and its surprising cloister are unmissable.
Bayonne is also a renowned gastronomic capital. Let yourself be tempted by its chocolate, the delicious Basque cake or its famous ham!

Activities

Guided Tour to the Ham Saloir in Bayonne with Tasting

From €5 for 45 mins

Guided tour and private walk of Bayonne

      From €50-60 for a duration of 1h30-2h

 

téléchargement.jfif

Council of premises:push the door
of the Trinquet Saint André in the Petit
Bayonne, you may attend a
Pala match, the famous Basque pelota!
There are also many
demonstrations during the holidays
Bayonne if you stay there at this
that time.

ITXASSOU
 

A certain authenticity emanates from the village of Itxassou. This commune at the foot of the Urzumu, Mondarrain and Artzamendi mountains is known for its cherry production. It is also the subject of an annual celebration in June that attracts thousands of travellers. The rural setting is also splendid. Its landscape of green plains, rocky facades and mountains give the village a very unique fantasy side.




Activities

Rafting on the Nive - Classic
      From €20 for one day

Canoraft on the Nive for Children (8-11 years old)
      From €20 for one day

Aqua Rando in the Basque Country  Discovery
      From €25 for one day


 

Itxassou.jpg


BIDARD

Ideally located between Biarritz and Saint Jean de Luz, the charming village of Bidart overlooks the ocean, with the Pyrenees as a backdrop. Seemingly traditional and conservative, it has transformed over time into a modern and vibrant small town that offers year-round entertainment. Coming to Bidart means learning about surfing and Basque pelota, discovering local traditions such as dances, songs and Basque strength, visiting the town with enthusiastic greeters, tasting local specialties and products means recharging your batteries near the ocean, strolling on the green, dreaming in front of the sunset, and above all, enjoying every moment with your family, between friends or just two.

Bidart is a magnificent playground for nature lovers with its 6 beaches stretching over 5 km of coastline, its golf course, its walks and hikes including those on the coastal path, and leisure activities with its surf schools, its quad and e-trick outings, its skate park and sports grounds. Those thirsty for culture are not to be outdone thanks to its craftsmanship with the workshop of the Basque Cutlers and that of the Bassilour mill, its place and its labourdin triptych, its heritage path which leaves to discover the historical monuments of the village and a portion of the road to Compostela. So if you are tempted to spend a weekend or your next vacation in the Basque Country in Bidart, a wide choice of accommodation is available to you, from camping to 4-star hotels, including guest rooms, tourist residences and vacation rentals.

20200425-baskindrone-bidart-0685-960x640.jpg

ESPELETTE

The chilli capital is a charming little village full of character in the heart of the Basque Country. The village has remained very authentic, apart from the many peppers attached to its facades, which are only there for decoration. Take the time to stroll through its pretty white and red streets, and below the village, around the stream. The Espelette church is also worth a visit: typical of the Basque Country, it is decorated with black wooden balconies, like in the theatre! Do not forget to visit the chilli interpretation center, which is particularly interesting. From the origins of red pepper to the ten villages that produce it today, you will undoubtedly learn a lot about Espelette pepper!

ESPELETTE.jpg

Council of premises:Espelette is a victim of its own success: try to get there as early as possible in the morning to enjoy it in peace before the arrival of the tourist coaches.

THE MOST BEAUTIFUL VILLAGES IN FRANCE

The Basque Country has four villages labeled "most beautiful villages in France" and they fully deserve their title! Ainhoa is a small postcard village: impossible to find more Basque than it! Composed of a long and unique main street, its houses seem taken from a Basque museum. Sare is a peaceful village located at the foot of the Rhune. It has the charm of Basque mountain villages, with its houses mixing stone and half-timbering, and its pediment in the middle of the village. Do not miss La Bastide Clairence, famous for its many craftsmen. You will be able to discover their trade thanks to a route through the pretty Basque houses.
It is also a typical bastide of the south-west, with its main square surrounded by houses with arcades. Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port is a little different, but just as essential. It has few half-timbering, but colorful shutters and pink sandstone stones that add to its charm. Located on the banks of the Nive, it is a key place on the paths of Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle, of which there are many reminders in the streets of the village.

Council of premises:Each village is different and worth the detour. It is easy to
explore them on a roadtrip between La Bastide
Clairence, near Bayonne and Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port, at the foot of the Spanish border. This also allows you to enjoy the Basque hinterland, less popular, but also very beautiful.

THE MOST BEAUTIFUL VILLAGES…

AINHOA

Founded in the 13th century, the commune of Ainhoa is a bastide that deserves a look. With its typical Basque dwellings, with red, white or green facades, the highlight of the show remains its church with its four-storey square bell tower.

SARES

At the foot of the Axuria and Rhune mountains, this village maintains its sporting and festive traditions. Stroll through its half-timbered houses or venture into its cave.

ainhoa.png
sare.jpg

THE MOST BEAUTIFUL VILLAGES…

LA BASTIDE-CLAIRENCE

This town is a Navarre country house from the 14th century. With its central arcaded square, its white half-timbered houses and its many craft workshops, it will add a picturesque touch to your stay.

la bastile c.jpg

SAINT-JEAN-PIED-DE-PORT

At the foot of the Cols de Cize, this tourist spot is a high point of Catholic pilgrimage. Indeed, the village is an important step towards Santiago de Compostela.

saint jean pied de port.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page

top of page

Villes et villages aux alentours

BAYONNE

Située au confluent de l’Adour et de la Nive, Bayonne est l’une des plus belles villes du Pays basque. Et si elle n’est pas située directement en bord de mer, son charme est ailleurs. L’identité basque est partout, tant dans l’architecture que dans les associations qui rythment la ville ou encore sa gastronomie… Bayonne est vraiment une ville à part, à découvrir absolument.
Rendez-vous pour débuter la visite de Bayonne dans le quartier du Petit Bayonne. Avec ses hauts immeubles basques à colombages et leurs volets colorés, il dégage un charme fou. Il fait bon flâner dans ses rues, où les messages en basque fleurissent sur les façades et aux fenêtres. Baladez-vous ensuite le long des quais la Nive, qui sépare la ville en deux. Les façades y sont de toute beauté, notamment sur le quai Jaureguiberry, à ne pas manquer. Il est bien agréable de s’y arrêter pour y prendre un verre. Puis traversez la rivière pour explorer le Grand Bayonne. Le quartier historique regroupe les vieilles halles, la maison Moulis et la cathédrale Sainte-Marie. Sa superbe abside colorée et son surprenant cloître sont incontournables.
Bayonne est aussi une capitale gastronomique de renom. Laissez-vous tenter par son chocolat, le délicieux gâteau basque ou encore son fameux jambon !

Activités

Visite Guidée au Saloir à Jambons à Bayonne avec Dégustation

     A partir de 5€ pour une durée de 45 min

Visite Guidée et balade privée de Bayonne

     A partir de 50-60€ pour une durée de 1h30-2h

 

téléchargement.jfif

Conseil des locaux : Poussez la porte
du Trinquet Saint André dans le Petit
Bayonne, vous assisterez peut-être à un
match de pala, la pelote basque si célèbre !
Il y a également de nombreuses
démonstrations pendant les fêtes de
Bayonne si vous y séjournez à ce
moment-là.

ITXASSOU
 

Une certaine authenticité émane du village d’Itxassou. Cette commune au pied des monts Urzumu, Mondarrain et Artzamendi est connu pour sa production de cerise. Elle fait d’ailleurs l’objet en juin d’une célébration annuelle qui attire des milliers de voyageurs. Le cadre rural est également splendide. Son paysage de plaines verdoyantes, de façades rocheuses et de montagnes donnent au village un côté fantastique très singulier.




Activités

Rafting sur la Nive - Classique
     A partir de 20€ pour une journée

Canoraft sur la Nive pour Enfants (8-11 ans)
     A partir de 20€ pour une journée

Aqua Rando dans le Pays basque  Découverte
     A partir de 25€ pour une journée


 

Itxassou.jpg


BIDART

Idéalement situé entre Biarritz et Saint Jean de Luz, le charmant village de Bidart surplombe l’océan, avec comme toile de fond les Pyrénées. En apparence traditionnel et conservateur, il s’est transformé au fil du temps en une petite ville moderne et dynamique qui propose des animations toute l’année. Venir à Bidart, c'est s'initier au surf et à la pelote basque, c’est découvrir les traditions locales comme les danses, les chants et la force basque, c’est visiter la ville avec des greeters passionnés, c’est goûter aux spécialités et produits du terroir, c’est se ressourcer près de l'océan, c’est flâner sur le green, c’est rêver face au coucher du soleil, et surtout c’est profiter de chaque instant en famille, entre amis ou simplement à deux.

Bidart est un magnifique terrain de jeu pour les amoureux de la nature avec ses 6 plages s’étendant sur 5 km de littoral , son golf, ses balades et randonnées dont celles du sentier du littoral, et des loisirs avec ses écoles de surf, ses sorties en quad et e-tricks, son skate park et ses terrains de sports. Les assoiffés de culture ne sont pas en reste grâce à son artisanat avec l’atelier des Couteliers basques et celui du moulin de Bassilour, sa place et son triptyque labourdin, son sentier patrimonial qui part à la découverte des monuments historiques du village et d’une portion du chemin de Compostelle. Alors si vous êtes tenté pour passer un weekend ou vos prochaines vacances au Pays basque à Bidart, un large choix d’hébergements s’offre à vous, du camping à l’hôtel 4 étoiles, en passant par les chambres d’hôtes, les résidences de tourisme et les locations de vacances.

20200425-baskindrone-bidart-0685-960x640.jpg

Présentation

Situation ? Que visiter ? Que faire ? Quels événements ?

Activités

Cours de golf
     A partir de 55€

Cours de surf
     A partir de 28€



 

ESPELETTE

La capitale du piment est un charmant petit village de caractère au plein cœur du Pays basque. Le village est resté très authentique, en dehors des nombreux piments attachés sur ses façades, et qui ne sont là que pour la décoration. Prenez le temps de flâner dans ses jolies rues blanches et rouges, et en contrebas du village, autour du ruisseau. L’église d’Espelette vaut aussi le détour : typique du Pays basque, elle est agrémentée de balcons en bois noir, comme au théâtre ! N’oubliez pas de visiter le centre d’interprétation du piment, particulièrement intéressant. Des origines du poivre rouge aux dix villages qui le produisent aujourd’hui, vous apprendrez sans doute beaucoup de choses sur le piment d’Espelette !

ESPELETTE.jpg

Conseil des locaux : Espelette est victime de son succès : essayez de vous y rendre le plus tôt possible en matinée pour en profiter dans le calme avant l'arrivée des cars de touristes.

LES PLUS BEAUX VILLAGES DE FRANCE

Le Pays basque compte quatre villages labellisés « plus beaux villages de France » et ils méritent amplement leur titre ! Ainhoa est un petit village de carte postale : impossible de trouver plus basque que lui ! Composé d’une longue et unique grande rue, ses maisons semblent tirées d’un musée basque. Sare est quant à lui un paisible village situé au pied de la Rhune. Il a le charme des villages basques de montagne, avec ses maisons mélangeant pierres et colombages, et son fronton en plein milieu du village. Ne manquez pas non plus La Bastide Clairence, célèbre pour ses nombreux artisans. Vous pourrez découvrir leur métier grâce à un parcours à travers les jolies maisons basques.
C’est aussi une bastide typique du sud-ouest, avec sa place principale cintrée de maisons à arcades. Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port est quant à lui un peu différent, mais tout aussi incontournable. Il affiche peu de colombages, mais des volets colorés et des pierres de grès rose qui font tout son charme. Situé au bord de la Nive, c’est un lieu phare sur les chemins de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle, dont on trouve de nombreux rappels dans les rues du village.

Conseil des locaux : Chaque village est différent et mérite le détour. Il est facile de
les parcourir en roadtrip entre La Bastide
Clairence, proche de Bayonne et Saint-Jean-Pied-de-Port, au pied de la frontière espagnole. Cela permet de profiter aussi de l’arrière-pays basque, moins couru, mais très beau également.

LES PLUS BEAUX VILLAGES…

AINHOA

Fondée au XIIIème siècle, la commune d’Ainhoa est une bastide qui mérite le coup d’oeil. Avec ses habitations basques typiques, aux façades rouges, blanches ou vertes, le clou du spectacle reste son église au clocher carré à quatre étages

SARE

Au pied des massifs de l’Axuria et de la Rhune, ce village maintient ses traditions sportives et festives. Arpentez ses maisons en colombages ou aventurez-vous dans sa grotte.

ainhoa.png
sare.jpg

LES PLUS BEAUX VILLAGES…

LA BASTIDE-CLAIRENCE

Ce bourg est une bastide navarraise du XIVème siècle. Avec sa place centrale à arcades, ses maisons blanches à colombages et ses nombreux ateliers d’artisanat, elle ajoutera une touche pittoresque à votre séjour.

la bastile c.jpg

SAINT-JEAN-PIED-DE-PORT

Au pied des cols de Cize, ce lieu touristique est un haut point du pèlerinage catholique. En effet, le village est une étape importante vers Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle.

saint jean pied de port.jpg
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
bottom of page